The Muhammadu Dikko Stadium in Katsina may stage this year’s Aiteo Cup final on October 8

The northern cities of Kano and Katsina are in the running to stage this year’s Federation Cup final, which is now known as the Aiteo Cup, SCORENigeria has specially gathered.

Kano hosted the country’s cup final in 2009, while Katsina has yet to play host to such a major event.

The Sani Abacha Stadium in Kano is the home ground of NPFL side Kano Pillars, one of the country’s best followed clubs, while Muhammadu Dikko Stadium in Katsina is the home of another NPFL outfit, Katsina United.

A large turnout of fans is expected at either venue, which should impress the title sponsors.

The cup final is fixed for October 8 with the winners representing Nigeria in next year’s CAF Confederation Cup.

Yenagoa or Uyo are being considered to host the women’s version.

The new format of the country’s competition will see Rounds of 64 and 32 played on knockout basis, while from the quarterfinals will be played on home and away basis.


By Kola Daniel



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here